Desi’s Blog O’ Thoughts


Maney Making Prison System
August 20, 2010, 12:12 pm
Filed under: daggone gubmint

So, my nephew Steven has been in jail for some time. In and out since he was a teen.  I recently started writing and sending him money. He kept asking me for double what I was sending and I couldn’t figure it out. I soon learned that when I was sending him $40 -the government took 1/2. For what I am not sure. They do pay for housing and basic food. But he was charged weekly for toiletries, better food, rent, etc. Yes, prisons are expensive and he can’t have a completely free ride. However, I would love to see the accounting on all the 1/2 fees they take out on prisoners money orders. I have seen people send hundreds of dollars a month. Where does tax money end and the gouging begin?

Then I learned that as of September 1st the American Prison System will be embarking on another great money making venture – jPay. Basically it is a service that will be in charge of delivering money electronically to prisons. So instead of my .44 cent stamp. I HAVE TO PAY jPAY up to $10 in delivery fees. The prison will not accept my .99 cent money order via mail. Everything must go through jPay.

jPay will offer email services to inmates making it easier to communicate with them. Not as bad it cost .25 cents per email roughly – however email is free. They are doing such a high volume of business since emails are easier for families to send in general. They just pocket the 5 – 10 dollar fees they charge.

As long as people find new ways to make money off the prison system. The system will keep growing. I am doing my part, helping my nephew make the right decisions and pick the right friends. he has his H.S. Diploma (though prison issued) and we have been talking about him taking psychology courses and working with kids when he gets out. But, I fear though he is worth more money to the prison system in then out. They won’t get extra money every month. And he won’t be paying rent on a cot that our tax dollars already paid for.

If my nephew suggested jPay and started this business on his own – he would probably be in violation of his parole. Rehabilitation America. Not more money making schemes.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment